Jul 12, 2024  
2021-2022 Academic Catalog 
2021-2022 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Board of Trustees, Cabinet and Faculty

The University was founded in 1898 by the Society of Friends (better known as the Quakers) who operated the University until the 1930s. Governance of the institution was then turned over to an independent Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

Mr. Craig Bay - Goddard, KS

Mr. Robert Casper - Wichita, KS

Mr. David Depew - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Kimberly Dugger Attwater - Wichita, KS

Mr. Brent Edmisten - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Lynn Ghormley - Benton, KS

Mr. Kevin Henderson - Wichita, KS

Dr. Kevin Hoppock - Valley Center, KS

Dr. Jace Hyder - Wichita, KS

Dr. John Lewis - Andover, KS

Mr. Paul Moore - Wichita, KS

Mr. James Nagy - McKinney, TX

Mr. Jeff Ramsey - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Renae Ryan - Wichita, KS

Dr. Kent Walkemeyer - La Habra, CA

Dr. David Williams - Derby, KS

Mr. C. Patrick Woods - Topeka, KS

Executive Committee

Dr. Amy Bragg Carey - Wichita, KS, University President

Dr. John Lewis - Andover, KS, Chair

Mr. Paul Moore - Wichita, KS, Vice Chair

Mr. Craig Bay - Goddard, KS, Treasurer

Mrs. Lynn Ghormley - Benton, KS, Secretary

Mr. Kevin Henderson - Wichita, KS, Chair, Student Affairs Committee

Mr. James Nagy - McKinney, TX, Chair, Academic Affairs Committee

Mrs. Kimberly Dugger Attwater - Wichita, KS, Chair, University Advancement Committee

President’s Cabinet

Dr. Amy Bragg Carey, University President

Dr. Ken Stoltzfus, Vice President of Academic Affairs

Vernon Dolezal, Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Kelley Williams, Vice President of Administration

Deb Stockman, Vice President of Enrollment Management

Dr. Guy Chmieleski, Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Campus Ministries


Teaching Faculty, Staff, and Administrators

Click here to access a Friends University Faculty and Staff Directory

Emeritus Faculty

Bill Allan, B.S., Abilene Christian University; M.A., Cal Polytech State University

Dr. Kathryn Boyle, B.A., University of Kansas; Ph. D. University of Iowa (P. Dan Schultz Distinguished Professor of Chemistry).

Dr. Robert Leroy Brightup, A.B., Friends University; B.D., Nazarene Theological Seminary; Th.D., Iliff School of Theology.

Max Burson, B.S.Ed, M.S.Ed., Southwest Missouri State University; M.A., University of Missouri.

Dr. Brenda Cain, B.S. Pittsburg State University; M.E.Ed.S, Wichita State University; Ph.D., University of Minnesota.

C. G. Chacko, B.A., Azusa College; M.A., San Diego State College; M.S., University of Oregon.

Dr. G. Robert Dove, EB.S., M.S., Pittsburg State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.

Dr. Gretchen Eick, EB.A., Kalamazoo College; M.A., Northwestern University, Ph.D., University of Kansas.

Dr. Harold Friesen, B.S., M.S., Mankato State University; Ed.D., Oklahoma State University.

Dr. Richard Gibson, B.F.A., Washburn University; M.Ed., Wichita State University; Ph.D. Kansas State University.

Dr. Malcolm Harris, B.A., Canisius College; Ph.D., University of Connecticut.

Dr. Marv Hinten, B.S., M. A., University of Missouri; Ph. D. Bowling Green State University.

Lisa Hittle, B.M., Kansas State University; B.MEd., Wichita State University; M.M., Wichita State University.

Dr. Wayne L. Howdeshell, B.A., Friends University; M.A., Wichita State University; Ph.D., Oklahoma State University.

Marilyn Jones, B.S., Wichita State University; M.S., Emporia State University.

Dr. Christian Kettler, B.A., Friends University; M.A., MDiv, and Ph.D., Fuller Theological Seminary

Ted Krone, B.A., Fort Hays State University; M.F.A., Wichita State University.

Toni Libhart, BME, BFA, and MME; Wichita State University

Dr. Dan Lord, B.A., University of Kansas; MDiv, St Paul School of Theology; Ph.D., Boston University

Ann Marie Miller, B.M., Oberlin College; M.M. New England Conservatory.

Carol O’Hara, B.A., M.Ed., Wichita State University.

Dr. Charles Parker, B.A., Harding University; M.A., Harding School of Theology, M.A., University of Memphis; Ph.D., SIU-Carbondale

Dr. Ed Pearson, B.A., Fordham University; M.I.S., M.A., Friends University; J.D., President’s College School of Law.

Dr. John Rhodes, B.S., Florida State University; M.S., Troy University, and Ph.D., University of Florida

Dr. Cecil J. Riney, B.M., Friends University; M.M.E., University of Kansas; D.M.A., University of Southern California. (Lewis M. and Selma M. Miller Distinguished Professor of Music.).

Stan Rogers, B.F.A., Wichita State University; M.A., Columbia University

Elizabeth G. Ross, A.B., Mt. Holyoke College; M.S.W., The University of Oklahoma; M.B.A., Wichita State University.

Dr. Al Saber, B.S., University of Isfahan, Iran; M.S., Ph.D., University of Oklahoma.

Dr. Kathy Slemp, B.B.A., Wichita State University; M.S., Kansas State University; Ph.D., Capella University.

Dr. Donna Stuber, B.S., Missouri Western State College; M.S. Emporia State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.

Dr. John Taylor, B.M.E., Bowling Green State University; M.M.E., Indiana University; Ph.D., Ohio State University.

Dr. Jan Wilson, B.S., Oklahoma State University; M.S. Wichita State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.