Jun 20, 2024  
2014-2015 Academic Catalog 
2014-2015 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Board of Trustees, Cabinet and Faculty

Click on any of the following links for information:

The University was founded in 1898 by the Society of Friends (better known as the Quakers) who operated the University until the 1930s.
Governance of the institution was then turned over to an independent Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

Eldon Alexander   Garden City
Craig Bay   Wichita
Marilyn Brown, LCMFT   Harrisonville, Missouri
Pam Chambers   Great Bend
David Depew   Wichita
Ardith Dunn   Moscow
Duane Hansen   Wichita
Leatha Hein   Valley Center
Dr. Kevin Hoppock   Valley Center
Dr. Denis Knight   Wichita
Dr. John Lewis   Andover
Kelly Linnens   Hillsboro
Dr. Cliffton Loesch   Wichita
Jana Mullen   Valley Center
Shelly Prichard   Wichita
Edwin Roberts   Overland Park
Dr. Becky Twietmeyer   Wichita
Trustee Emeritus    
Carl W. Sebits   Cheney


Executive Committee
Dr. Darcy Zabel, President (Interim)
Dr. John Lewis, Chair
Kelly Linnens, Vice Chair
Clifford Loesch, Treasurer
Duane Hansen, Secretary
Pam Chambers
Ardith Dunn

President’s Cabinet

Dr. Darcy Zabel, Interim President, Professor of English
Bill Allan, Dean of the College of Business, Arts, Sciences, and Education (interim), Professor of Psychology
Hilary Aubey, Topeka Education Center & Northeast Region Director
Mark Britton, University Registrar
Julia Capps, Vice President of Finance (interim)
Dr. Stephen Eaves, Division Chair of Fine Arts - CBASE
Dr. Joan Gallagher, Vice President of University Relations
Dr. David Hofmeister, Dean of the Graduate School; Interim Dean CAPS
Heidi Hoskinson, Vice President for Academic Affairs (interim)
Kevin Lyerla, Executive Director of Information Technology
Steve Neu, Staff Assembly President
Dr. Carole Obermeyer, Vice President of Student Affairs
Brandon Pierce, Senior Executive Director of CBASE Admissions & Financial Aid (interim)
Gary Rapp, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
Dr. Cecil Riney, Assistant to the President for Fundraising
Dr. Patrick Sehl, University Chaplain & Director of Campus Ministries
Deb Stockman, Vice President of Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications (interim)
Dr. Preston Todd, Assistant Dean of CBASE
Dr. Karyn Turla, Chair of Faculty Senate, Professor of Biology
Kelley Williams, Vice President, Human Resources, Information Technology, Institutional Effectiveness
Joe Zimmerman, Director of Athletics

Teaching Faculty, Academic Administrators and Adjunct Program Directors


Click here to access a Friends University Faculty and Staff Directory

Emeriti Faculty

Robert Leroy Brightup, Emeritus
  A.B., Friends University; B.D., Nazarene Theological Seminary; Th.D., Iliff School of Theology.
C.G. Chacko, Emeritus
  B.A., Azusa College; M.A., San Diego State College; M.S., University of Oregon.
Brenda Cain, Emerita
  B.S. Pittsburg State University; M.E.Ed.S, Wichita State University; Ph.D., University of Minnesota.
G. Robert Dove, Emeritus
  B.S., M.S., Pittsburg State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.
Gretchen Eick, Emerita
  B.A., Kalamazoo College; M.A., Northwestern University, Ph.D., University of Kansas.
Vivian Fleming, Emerita
  A.B., Friends University; M.M.E., University of Oklahoma.
John P. Freedlun, Emeritus
  B.S., Ph.D., Kansas State University; M.S., Wichita State University.
Harold Friesen, Emeritus
  B.S., M.S., Mankato State University; Ed.D., Oklahoma State University.
Willard Dale Goodrich, Emeritus
  B.A., M.S., Wichita State University; Ed.D., University of Arkansas.
Wayne L. Howdeshell, Emeritus
  B.A., Friends University; M.A., Wichita State University; Ph.D., Oklahoma State University.
Marilyn Jones, Emerita
  B.S., Wichita State Unviersity; M.S., Emporia State University.
Ann Marie Miller, Emerita
  B.M., Oberlin College; M.M. New England Conservatory.
Philip Nagley, Emeritus
  Curator of Museum; B.S., Wilmington College; M.A., Columbia University; Honorary Doctorate in Humanities, Friends University.
Raymond S. Nelson, Emeritus
  B.Th., Trinity Seminary and Bible College; B.A., M.A., University of Minnesota; Ph.D., University of Nebraska.
Cecil J. Riney, Emeritus
  B.M., Friends University; M.M.E., University of Kansas; D.M.A., University of Southern California. (Lewis M. and Selma M. Miller Distinguished Professor of Music.)
Elizabeth G. Ross, Emerita
  A.B., Mt. Holyoke College; M.S.W., The University of Oklahoma; M.B.A., Wichita State University.
Al Saber, Emeritus
  B.S., University of Isfahan, Iran; M.S., Ph.D., University of Oklahoma.
Kjersti Swanson, Emerita
  A.B., Friends University; M.S., University of Oklahoma.
David Weber, Emeritus  (Posthumous)
  B.M., M.M., University of Cincinnati; D.M.A., University of Missouri-Kansas City.


  ^ TOP