2018-2019 Academic Catalog 
    May 23, 2024  
2018-2019 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Board of Trustees, Cabinet and Faculty

The University was founded in 1898 by the Society of Friends (better known as the Quakers) who operated the University until the 1930s. Governance of the institution was then turned over to an independent Board of Trustees.

Board of Trustees

Mr. Michael Bankston - Wichita, KS

Mr. Craig Bay - Goddard, KS

Mr. Robert Casper - Wichita, KS

Mr. David Depew - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Kimberly Dugger Attwater - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Lynn Ghormley - Benton, KS

Mr. Bradley Haddock - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Leatha Hein - Valley Center, KS

Mr. Kevin Henderson - Wichita, KS

Dr. Kevin Hoppock - Valley Center, KS

Dr. Jace Hyder - Wichita, KS

Dr. Denis Knight - Wichita, KS

Dr. John Lewis - Andover, KS

Mr. Kelly Linnens - Hillsboro, KS

Mr. Paul Moore - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Jana Mullen - Valley Center, KS

Mr. James Nagy - McKinney, TX

Mr. Jeff Ramsey - Wichita, KS

Mrs. Renae Ryan - Wichita, KS

Dr. David Williams - Haviland, KS

Executive Committee

Dr. Amy Bragg Carey - Wichita, KS, University President

Dr. John Lewis - Andover, KS, Chair

Dr. Denis Knight - Wichita, KS, Vice Chair

Mr. Craig Bay - Goddard, KS, Treasurer

Mrs. Lynn Ghormley - Benton, KS, Secretary

Mr. Dave Depew - Wichita, KS, Chair, Student Affairs Committee

Mrs. Leatha Hein - Valley Center, KS, Chair, Academic Affairs Committee

Mrs. Kimberly Dugger Attwater - Wichita, KS, Chair, University Advancement Committee

President’s Cabinet

Dr. Amy Bragg Carey, University President

Dr. Guy Chmieleski, Campus Pastor and Dean of Campus Ministries

Vernon Dolezal, Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer

Ken Faffler, Vice President of Enrollment Management

Dr. Jasper Lesage, Vice President of Academic Affairs

Dr. Joseph Slavens, Vice President of Student Affairs

Kelley Williams, Vice President of Administration

Teaching Faculty, Academic Administrators and Adjunct Program Directors

Click here to access a Friends University Faculty and Staff Directory

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Kathryn Boyle, B.A., University of Kansas; Ph. D. University of Iowa (P. Dan Schultz Distinguished Professor of Chemistry).

Dr. Robert Leroy Brightup, A.B., Friends University; B.D., Nazarene Theological Seminary; Th.D., Iliff School of Theology.

Max Burson, B.S.Ed, M.S.Ed., Southwest Missouri State University; M.A., University of Missouri.

C. G. Chacko, B.A., Azusa College; M.A., San Diego State College; M.S., University of Oregon.

Dr. Brenda Cain, B.S. Pittsburg State University; M.E.Ed.S, Wichita State University; Ph.D., University of Minnesota.

Dr. G. Robert Dove, EB.S., M.S., Pittsburg State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.

Dr. Gretchen Eick, EB.A., Kalamazoo College; M.A., Northwestern University, Ph.D., University of Kansas.

Dr. Harold Friesen, B.S., M.S., Mankato State University; Ed.D., Oklahoma State University.

Dr. Richard Gibson, B.F.A., Washburn University; M.Ed., Wichita State University; Ph.D. Kansas State University.

Dr. Willard Dale Goodrich, B.A., M.S., Wichita State University; Ed.D., University of Arkansas.

Dr. Malcolm Harris, B.A., Canisius College; Ph.D., University of Connecticut.

Robert (Bob) Harvey, M.S.M., Friends University. 

Dr. Marv Hinten, B.S., M. A., University of Missouri; Ph. D. Bowling Green State University.

Dr. Wayne L. Howdeshell, B.A., Friends University; M.A., Wichita State University; Ph.D., Oklahoma State University.

Marilyn Jones, B.S., Wichita State Unviersity; M.S., Emporia State University.

Ted Krone, B.A., Fort Hays State University; M.F.A., Wichita State University.

Ann Marie Miller, B.M., Oberlin College; M.M. New England Conservatory.

Philip Nagley, Emeritus, Curator of Museum; B.S., Wilmington College; M.A., Columbia University; Honorary Doctorate in Humanities, Friends University.

Carol O’Hara, B.A., M.Ed., Wichita State University.

Dr. Ed Pearson, B.A., Fordham University; M.I.S., M.A., Friends University; J.D., President’s College School of Law.

Dr. Cecil J. Riney, B.M., Friends University; M.M.E., University of Kansas; D.M.A., University of Southern California. (Lewis M. and Selma M. Miller Distinguished Professor of Music.).

Elizabeth G. Ross, A.B., Mt. Holyoke College; M.S.W., The University of Oklahoma; M.B.A., Wichita State University.

Dr. Al Saber, B.S., University of Isfahan, Iran; M.S., Ph.D., University of Oklahoma.

Dr. Donna Stuber, B.S., Missouri Western State College; M.S. Emporia State University; Ph.D., Kansas State University.